Jelly Tea 10 Mile Road Race 18th August 2019

The 2019 Tynedale Harriers ‘Jelly Tea’ 10 Mile race will be held on Sunday the 18th August at 10:00.  Entries are now open!

2018 Race Report

The 2018 Tynedale Harriers ‘Jelly Tea’ 10 mile race was held on the the 26th August 2018.  Provisional results are now online.

Included in the race entry fee was Jelly, Sandwich and a cup of Tea at the race HQ!

It is a fast and flat 10 mile race, the new course is an out and back from outside Ovingham Middle School westwards towards Bywell.  Further information is in the final details.

The race incorporated the 2018 NECAA and NEMAA championships.

Results: Tynedale 10 mile Jelly Tea Road Race 2017

Results are online from the 2017 race which was held on the 24th September 2017 at 10am. Prizes were given out in the Old School in Ovingham after the race.

Results: Tynedale 10/15 mile Jelly Tea Road Race 2016

Well done to everyone that came out in the sunshine for today’s 10 and 15 mile races.  Congratulations to our winners of the 10 mile, Abraham Tewelde and Gerda Steyn, and for the 15 mile Stefania Williams and Gary Wallace.  Full results, including age category winners are here and here.  Thanks to all the marshals and the organising committee for putting on the event, and also to our sponsor Wylam Garage.

Race Report: Tynedale 10 mile Jelly Road Race 2015

2015 Jelly Tea Results

Sunday saw the first ever running of Tynedale Harriers’ new 10-mile Jelly Road Race, which is sponsored by Wylam Garage. The route started and finished at Hexham Racecourse, and followed the roads and lanes to the south of the racecourse in beautiful Hexhamshire.

It was certainly a challenging course, described as “brutal” by several runners, with several major hills, but the weather was perfect for running and the views on the way round were spectacular.

450 runners completed the course, with 6 runners coming in under the hour. Elswick Harriers were on winning form, as they took first in both the men’s and women’s categories. Tadele Geremew Mulugeta was first across the line in a time of 56:10, followed by Marc Fenwick (Tyne Bridge Harriers) in 58:24 and Conrad Franks (Gateshead Harriers & AC) in 58:59.

Justina Heslop won the women’s race in 1:03:04, followed by Magda Grinsdale (Tyne Bridge Harriers) in 1:10:02 and Tynedale’s own Kirstie Anderson in 1:10:14.

The route may have changed this year, but the legendary post-race meal remained the same! Sandwiches, jellies, drinks and cakes were offered to all the runners, who could sit and enjoy their meal in the sunshine and admire the stunning views. New this year though was the option to buy beer from Allendale Brewery or a very welcome ice cream! All the family was catered for!

The race marshals from Tynedale Harriers were given a massive “thumbs up” by the runners who seemed to rate them as the most friendly and supportive marshals in local running races!

Tynedale Harriers would like to pass on their thanks to all the local residents around the race route who tried to avoid using the roads for the duration of the race and even came out to cheer on the runners. This is a long-standing event in the Tynedale Harriers’ calendar and it wouldn’t be possible without the support of the local community and the race sponsor Wylam Garage.

2014 Race Results and report

RESULTS online at Results Base

With thanks to our event sponsor Wylam Garage

Hundreds of coloured jellies were waiting for the 376 finishers of the popular annual Tynedale Harriers’ 10mile Jelly Road Race, which runs from Beaufront road on the outskirts of Hexham, through Corbridge and Bywell to Ovingham.  The race took place on Sunday morning, in beautiful weather, although the brisk wind might account for the fact that both men’s and women’s winning times were around 5 minutes slower than last year.

The race, which is sponsored by Wylam Garage, was won by Cees Van Der Land of Tyne Bridge Harriers, in a time of 55:56.  Ian Crampton of Durham was second in 56:11 and Conrad Franks of Gateshead third in 56:23.  It was a year of success for the older runner as second placed Crampton was competing in the V50 category.  In fact, in the men’s race, 3 out of the top 5 finishers were in the V45 or V50 categories!

It was a similar story for the women, with Louise Rodgers of Tyne Bridge Harriers, who was competing in the V40 category, claiming victory in a time of 1:06.07.  She finished 50th overall.  Relative youngsters Heather Steel of Claremont Road Runners and Gemma Bradley of Saltwell Harriers battled it out for 2nd and 3rd places, with Steel finishing in 1:08.53 and Bradley 2 seconds later!

The men’s team prize went to Elswick Harriers, with Morpeth Harriers in second place.  In the ladies’ team competition, first prize went to Tyne Bridge and second to Heaton Harriers.

There were no Tynedale runners this year, as many of them turned out to help marshal the race and help in the kitchens at Ovingham Middle School, where sandwiches, jellies, drinks and cakes were being offered to weary runners and their supporters.

See you in July 2015 for our 10k!

2013 results

Last year’s information:

Final instructions for runners here. Map for Car Parking at finish – please allow plenty of time to walk back to Ovingham Middle School in time for your bus.

Jelly Tea 10 mile route


2011 Report

THE Tynedale 10-mile Jelly Race’s prestige again shone through as over 500 competitors took part on Sunday.

And last year’s winning time of 54 minutes was well beaten as Ethiopian Yared Hagos completed the route in a brilliant time of 49 minutes and 32 seconds to finish first out of a strong field of 557.

Hagos was across the line four minutes faster than closest rival David Kirkland (53:42), of Alnwick Harriers, with Wootton RR’s Michael Aldridge (54:22) in third.

The ladies’ fastest time of last year was also beaten as Wallsend Harrier’s Danielle Hodgkinson shaved four minutes of the time to finish as fastest female in a time of one hour and 56 seconds.

Second female was Jane Hodgson (1:01:46), of Morpeth Harriers, with last year’s winner Stacey Rogers (1:02:49), of Heaton Harriers, third.

The last person across the line was Gillian Donaldson, of Saltwell Harriers, who never gave up despite taking two hours and nine minutes to complete the 10 miles.

From host club, Tynedale Harriers, Andy Green (59:32) finished fastest, ahead of Ian Marsden (1:02:55) and Peter Hearn (1:03:58).

The efforts of Tynedale’s ladies saw them finish third fastest team, with Joanne Lee (1:06:15), Steph Scott (1:10:19) and Maria Armstrong (1:12:19) the three quickest local ladies.