Annual awards night & ceilidh

Sixty Tynedale Harriers, their friends and family turned out for the annual awards in its ceilidh-hybrid revamp. We were hoping the new format would attract a ‘new audience’ to the awards night, and it seemed that everyone had a good time. Please let a member of the committee know what you thought. Thanks to all who helped put the evening together – especially Bridget for the original idea and most of the initial organisation. Great music as always from The Hedgehog’s Skin, good to see them again.

The awards!

Most improved athlete from Group 1 – Peter Hearn
PB for 10 mile at Brampton 60.12 2nd V50, 1st V50 at numerous Park Runs,  2nd V50 at Carlise HM, 1st V50 Ponteland 10m, Heaton Harriers Memorial 10K , Kirkley 10k!

Most improved athlete from Group 2 – Maria Armstrong
Astonishing comeback after a long lay off while her daughter was seriously ill.
A year of PBs and great results, including: 800m  2:44.17 (at the inaugural Tynedale Hospice charity 800m), Park Run  20:06
91:32 at the Great North Run – 10th woman in her age category. Won Kirkley 10k,  Bridges of Tyne 5 mile – 2nd

Most improved athlete from Group 3 – Jo Marsden
Some great efforts, especially in tough off road races – won the FV40 category in the Spadadam half (the Border Rievers) and the Ullswater lakeland trail challenge and had a strong run at the Hexhamshire Hobble, where she was 1st counter in the Tynedale Women’s ‘B’ team.

Most improved athlete from Group 4 – Gillian Bell
Gillian’s drive and determination much admired and she’s getting stronger all the time. Particulary impressed on a tough Harrier League course at Wallington with a gutsy run.

Male Track Athlete of the Year – Lea Stephenson
Over 40 entries on Power of 10 for 2013 – a busy year! Several wins in the local track and field league and apparently is a great cook too!

Male Field Athlete of the Year– Ian Cowell
Ian has almost made this award his own over last few years. His enthusiasm and commitment to track and field athletics is well recognised and regularly participates in several events at the T&F meetings. This year he particularly excelled, with PBs in 100m and 800m, became NE vet high jump champion and record holder and NE indoor senior high jump silver medalist. Also 3rd Vet50 at the British Masters Championships – fantastic effort.

Female Track Athlete of the Year – Steph White
Steph continues to dominate the awards for female club track and field athlete of the year. Her dedication and commitment to the track and field league is amazing. We hope to see some more women compete this year to give her some support!

Female Field Athlete of the Year – Steph White

Male Cross Country Runner of the Year – Syd Coxon
Syd was very consistent through the 2012-13 Harrier League season. Making the most of his running from the slow pack he finished 2nd Tynedale counter at Cramlington, Blaydon, Monkton and Wrekenton, earning valuable points in the Men’s team’s push for promotion.

Female Cross Country Runner of the Year – Kirstie Anderson
Brilliant effort, especially considering Kirstie spent most of the season running from the fast pack.

Fell/Ultra Runner of the Year – Bev Redfern
There are a few Tynedale Harriers who seem to be trying to outdo each other for more and more outrageous long distance, tough races. This year topped by Bev who completed the Ultra-Trail Du Mont-Blanc race: 180km (104 miles) and 9,600m of climb – 1,000m more than Everest!

Club Grand Prix
1st male – Ian Brown
2nd male – Peter Hearn
3rd male – Hugh Bingham

1st female – Kim Bluck
2nd female – Steph Scott
3rd female – Joanne Lee

Male club member of the year
Hugh Bingham for his services to the club over the years – as committee member for many years, as chair from 2006 – 2009 and until recently a member of the race committee.

Female club member of the year
Maria Armstrong for her inspiring return to running after a traumatic year away from athletics. Great achievements in so short a time back.

Photo: Some of the award winners!


Get in touch

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *